To be.

Family

20140707-205925-75565858.jpg

Here is my daughter. My greatest achievement.

To imagine that two years ago today I was terrified of giving birth and becoming a mother seems unbelievable because, as I write this today, that is who I am and I cannot imagine being anyone else.

In those two years I have overcome fear much greater than I ever thought I was capable of facing just by being that person. I am scared daily by the task I have undertaken but it is only through this that I know what it means to live.

I would hate to suggest that being a mother is the only way to live a fulfilled life because I know that it is not. I admire so many women who haven’t had to undergo that transformation to be someone whole, complete. And others who have but who manage to be more than just that. But I am simply not that person. I needed someone else to make me all I could be. And now she is here I hope that I can continue to find the strength to show her who she might become.

2 thoughts on “To be.

  1. You have encapsulated all of my hopes and dreams of when you were born,my fears and my feelings. I wish I could have told you more often. I wish that you could have heard when I told you that you didn’t have to do everything by the time you were14. I wish you didn’t have to suffer but I guess we all just have to grow up and into our lives.

Leave a Reply

